Yoga Practices associated with us:

1. Mr. Drew Stall Cop,Purna Yoga London.07859005146

2. Ms. Caroline Tautz,Yoga & Body Work ,  07745895226

3. Dave & Barbara Hicks,Oakside Yoga, 07879444199

4. Ms. Emma Catherine Brown, Yoga Bromley, 07765100436

                                                                                       About Yoga

Yoga is a way/means to Healthy & Happy life. It is a Sanskrit word stands for ‘union’. Yoga is a way to connect and to realise the union of the internal and external energies. The basic idea of yoga is to unite the atma or individual soul with the paramatma or the Universal Soul. According to Yoga philosophy, by cleansing one’s mind and controlling one’s thought processes one can return to that primeval state, when the individual self was nothing but a part of the Divine Self.

Concentration/Focus is one of the perceived results through Yoga.

Yoga these days is considered as postures; But is it so ? Practicing postures and making body stronger and flexible is important to start with the yoga. To practice Yoga one need patience stamina a healthy body to attain the results of Yoga. Practicing Yoga regularly and routinely will help you achieve that goal.

Eight limbs of Yoga according to patanjali.

Yama or eternal vows,

• Niyama or observances,

• Yogasana or yoga postures,

• Pranayama or breath control exercises,

• Pratyahara or withdrawal of the senses from distractions of the outside world,

• Dharana or concentration on an object, place or subject,

• Dhyana or the continuance of this concentration-meditation and

• Samadhi or the ultimate stage of yoga meditation.

Yam- Niyam: The routine and lifestyle before practicing yoga

These are the initial steps to startup with the Yoga.
1. Ahimsa – Practice Non Violence, harmlessness, in its truest form it is to abstain from even the slightest harm to any livig creature- through deed, words or thoughts.
2. Satya – Truthfullness, Honesty, being true to oneself is the highest form of Satya
3. Asteya – Be happy with what you have,do not steal,  do not desire for other people’s material .
4. Brahmcharya – to live in accordance healthy thoughts, with ethics and moral values. Abstain from sensual pleasure.
5. Aprigraha – freedom from covetousness and possessions beyond one’s needs.

If one will collect the things of no use just for enjoy, it will enhance the greed in mind. For greed one can steal the others properties. To steal the things one forgets moral and ethical values. By stealing others part one hurt others. So by avoiding one, one can avoid all and these lead one to healthy and happy life and pure one’s psyche.

After practicing Yam one should go for Niyamas, which etymologically means the principals.

These are as following-
1. Shauch - to detoxify the whole body. Body here includes the physical body, psychology and consciousness all.
2. Santosha - Contentment, complete satisfaction about all worldly matters should be practiced.
3. Tapas - to practice austerity, particularly healthy activities, it gives stamina
4. Svadhyaay - To read the good and healthy literature
5. Eshwar Pranidhaan - To concentrate on the divine, supranatural powers Gods.
These Yam and Niyama together leads one to the betterment of psychological traits. By practicing these one becomes ready psychologically to practice next higher stages.

Postural Exercises: Asanas

An asana is a posture which is comfortably held. Asana’s have been the USP of Yoga and often misunderstood as well. Asanas are special exercises which have specific effects on the endocrine glands, joints, muscles, specific nerves and neural plexuses. History says that these have been evolved from the body contours and postures of that of animals. By imitating these poses they began to notice important effects on the human body.

For example, the peacock is a bird with a powerful digestive system capable of digesting even a poisonous snake. The ancient Scholars developed a posture for humans; this is known as Mayura Asanas, imitating that of the peacock, which strengthens the human digestive system.

These Asanas along with their organ specificity, these are Dosha specific in our bodies also. As we know that each Dosha occupies 1/3 rd of body so where ever a particular Asanas exert pressure, Dosha of that particular body part will be affected. In the same example, what we discussed earlier about Mayura Asanas (the peacock posture) – a Vata Prakruti person can do it easily and he will be benefited more by this posture in comparison of other two Prakrutis. One should be careful while choosing these Asanas for himself.

To know your type go for Prakruti Analysis

Breathing Exercises: Pranayam.

This is the most important part to start up with the Yoga. To understand the concept of Pranayam; breathing exercises-this is important to know about the word itself. Pranayam is made by two words – Prana + Ayam – where Prana stands for the energy of life, the vital energies and Ayam tells the way to master this energy.
Prana is compared directly with the oxygen. It is known today that without this air human beings or any living creature can’t live for a moment even. Oxygen is a main component for animates from this inhaled air, which burns the foods and then provide energy for all physical and psychological processes! And lack of this energy will lead us to a cessation. Our system will hang and we can’t stop it and restart it. Due to this importance, oxygen was named, life ‘The Prana’ by Ayurvedic scholars.
Pranayam is a procedure, which controls this energy of life. It’s in and out flow in our body enables our body to do its daily activities. Entrance of this energy is from breathing organs. So these organs are exercised in such a particular way that maximum energy is provided to the body. When this energy is available for body, body will perform its best and diseases appeared due to lack of energy will disappear. Concentration on breathing makes the psychology stronger and aimed. When one will be a master of Prana (the life), there is no doubt he will get the happiness. This works as a basic homework to do the best of the yoga and to relieve from all pains by the yogic exercises.

Dharna, Dhyana and Smadhi: meditative stages

These are three steps of the meditation, should be done after preparing the body and mind trough rest five steps of Yoga. From Dharna to Smadhi, practice is similar; there is only difference of the object. In Dharna one starts doing meditation by concentrating on any worldly object and then is slowly directed towards the innerself.

“Practice makes perfect”

In Dhyana, one concentrates with in one’s body.At this stage one might be able to concentrate on heart beat or even in between the eyebrows.
After Dhyana, the highest condition of meditation come Smadhi. Is a result of being one with the Universe understanding more indepth knowledge of the self and realising that one is not detached from the universe. In Smadhi you are a part of the universe or the universe itself.

“Tat tvam Aseeth” – That becomes you